Your Wine is Organic, but is it Vegan?

photo credit: Blair Sneddon Photography

Is your Beer and Wine Vegan? Is this really a necessary question to ask? Actually…yes it is. The days of brewing beer with whole chickens dumped into the mixture for flavor may be few and far between, but animal by products may still be used in the fermentation or filtration processes of your favorite adult beverage.

I am posting this because, as a vegetarian myself, I was seriously surprised I would need to check on this before purchasing a nice bottle of Pinot. This wonderful website is devoted to sorting through each wine and beer company and listing those that are vegan or vegetarian. Many favorites make the cut…so don’t panic just yet!

Excessive drinking is NOT good for your skin. The main reasons are that excessive alcohol puts a strain on your body’s digestive system, causes a build up of toxins, causes a huge sugar surge and inflammation – all of which can negatively affect your skin. However, studies have shown that when red wine and certain beers are enjoyed in small amounts, they can actually be good for heart health and skin health. Red wine alone contains resveratrol and extra polyphenols that can boost skin radiance. Beer contains biotin, B12, and other nutrients that are known to be beneficial to skin health. Beer also contains a decent amount of yeast – brewer’s yeast to be specific. This yeast has softening and clearing effects for the skin when used topically:

In ancient Egypt, long considered the birthplace of beer, women of the upper classes used beer for all sorts of cosmetic and therapeutic purposes, such as to freshen the skin and reduce the risk of skin conditions. 4,000 years later, scientific studies have confirmed that beer sediment (brewer’s yeast) can help improve the symptoms of acne by slowing down sebum production and killing off the bacteria that triggers acne. This component of beer, an inactive yeast that no longer has leavening power, helps maintain a balanced pH level in the skin.

I’ve mentioned before that many alcoholic beverages contain chemical pesticides unless they are labeled ‘organic.’ It is important to note that if you find it important to eat organic grapes, you may want to drink organic wine (especially if you are on the one glass of red wine with dinner bandwagon.) So, if we are looking for organic, why not check and make sure our beverage is vegan too?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *